This week's PBS Feature Album is Travel, the 19th studio album by Australian improvisational 
trio The Necks, which documents their recent practice of starting each day in the studio with a 20-minute trio improvisation. The recordings offer some of their most ecstatic and captivating music cut to tape. 

As bassist Lloyd Swanton puts it: “It’s a really nice communal activity to bring us together in focus each day, and some lovely music has resulted from it.” Although a straight “live” improvisation has never been recorded in the studio by the band, these tracks (save for some light overdubs and post-production) feel closest to their 30 years of celebrated live performances.

Travel marks a return to this double-LP format, offered in a beautiful gatefold package that features photography by Traianos Pakioufakis and impeccable mastering by Doug Henderson.

Tune in all this week to hear tracks from Travel, and PBS Members have the chance to win a copy of the album on CD via this Tuesday's e-newsletter, so make sure you check your inbox!

Not a PBS Member? Join now!


The Rookies - 'On The Shoulders of Giants'

Private Function - 'Jusavinageez'

Velatine - 'I Won't Be Civilized'

I Won't Be Civilised - VELATINE


Men I Trust - 'Ring of Past'

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - 'Nadja'

Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Nadja (Official Video)


Khan - 'Eyes, Lungs, Arms & Mind'

Fenn Wilson - 'Dancing'

Dancing - Fenn Wilson


MC Yallah - 'Sikwebela'

Pugilist and Tamen - 'Synesthesia'

Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter - 'Boogie Down' (feat. Nate Smith)