The members of Szun Waves may not have been collectively in the same country, let alone room, for over two years, but that hasn’t prevented them from realising their third album, Earth Patterns, which is this week's PBS Feature Album. The trio – comprised of producer Luke Abbott, saxophonist Jack Wyllie and drummer Laurence Pike – recorded the album sessions together at the tail end of their 2019 European tour, locking themselves away in the studio for three days of improvisation.

Following this - with Laurence marooned in Australia and Luke and Jack grounded in different parts of the UK - additional input was offered by electronic savant James Holden, as well as producer/engineer David Pye, while the core members of Szun Waves had more time to reflect on the recordings. The break also allowed them to identify the perfect complementary collaborator - visual artist Dom Harwood, who worked on Max Cooper’s acclaimed live AV performances - to create the sort of accompanying visual landscapes on which he’s built his reputation.

Szun Waves- Earth Patterns is out now, tune in to PBS all this week to hear tracks from the album. PBS Members have the chance to win a copy of the album on CD via this Tuesday's e-newsletter, so make sure you check your inbox!

Not a PBS Member? Join now!


Freya Josephine Hollick - 'Me and Mine'

Matthew Halsall - 'The Temple Within'

Hannah McKittrick - 'Shells'

The Baudelaires - 'Roller Vaseline'

Vida Sunshyne - 'Free'

Vida Sunshyne - Free


CoN & KwAkE - 'Eyes In The Tower'

Space Ghost - 'Private Paradise'

Loveboner - 'Alphabet male (now THAT'S what I call egg punk)'

Motherslug - 'Forever More'

BlackBraid - 'The River of Time Flows Through Me'