This week's PBS Feature Album is Dream-self, the third studio album by Ballarat based cinematic indie-folk project Coda Chroma, fronted by award winning singer/songwriter Kate Lucas. 

The 10 tracks selected for Dream-self were chosen from a larger body of work that came to Lucas during an extended period of life change where she clung to music as a buoy and a best friend. Dream-self plays with shadows and light in a landscape where fragile introspection is at home alongside upbeat jangle-pop, and synthetic sounds mess around with acoustic instrumentation.

Of the album Lucas reflects, “Most of these songs were bursting to get out, requiring very little encouragement – the lyrics build scenes mainly through abstraction and metaphor, with some direct hits here and there. Production concepts were guided by the songs’ storytelling not by genre. It was really hard to choose which songs should be on this album, and we made changes right up to the eleventh hour, but I think Dream-self flows really well now.”

Tune in all this week to hear tracks from Dreamself, and PBS Members have the chance to win a vinyl copy of the album via this Tuesday's e-newsletter, so make sure you check your inbox! Please note that winners will need to pick up their record from the station in Collingwood.

Not a PBS Member? Join now!


Surprise Chef - 'Friendship Theme'

Naretha Williams - 'Kairotic'

Adam Halliwell - 'Freedom Lapse'

Cable Ties - 'Time For You'

Public Opinion Afro Orchestra - 'Shake That Off'

Lucy Wise - 'Cold Winds'

Hatchie - 'Rooftops' (feat. Liam Benzvi)

The Toads - 'Nationalsville'

CHILD - 'Free and Humble'

Alexander Flood - 'Berlin'

Alexander Flood - Berlin (Official Video)