This week's PBS Feature Album comes from the Australian Art Orchestra titled Hand To Earth.

Hand to Earth was developed during an Australian Art Orchestra (AAO) residency in the remote highlands of Tasmania. Yolŋu songman, Daniel Wilfred, and Korean vocalist, Sunny Kim, formed an effortless rapport; their combined vocal approaches expressing a deeply human commonality whilst also invoking raw elemental forces.

Trumpeter and composer, Peter Knight draws upon his minimalist influence to create a bed of electronic atmospheres that meld beautifully with these contrasting voices. The combination of Aviva Endean and David Wilfred’s evocative sounds transport the listener to previously unimagined sonic plains. Together the ensemble wields these mystical elements with a masterful improvisational touch that AAO is famous for.

Daniel sings in Wägilak language, in his ‘own’, the old people’s and his son’s voices, as the carrier of knowledge and the caller of raki. He has collaborated with the AAO for many years sharing his song with the world. As he explains:

“You’re not singing from your head, you’re singing from your heart...Working with the Orchestra, I can share my culture with other musicians, tell them my stories, sing my songs. They learn from me, and I learn from them.”

Formed in 1994, the Australian Art Orchestra is Australia’s leading contemporary music ensemble. It explores the meeting points between disciplines and cultures, and imagines new musical forms to reflect the energy and diversity of 21st century Australia.

The lasting vision of the AAO shines through on Hand to Earth, as Artistic Director Peter Knight explains:

“When art making cross cultures, when art bridges things that usually divide us, what you end up with is the essence of human connection.”

Hand To Earth is out now via AAO Records. Tune into PBS all week for your chance to win a copy of the album. Not a PBS member? Sign up now for your chance to win.  



Corin - 'Solis'

Placement - 'Harder'

Psychedelic Porn Crumpets - 'Lava Lamp Pisco'

Psychedelic Porn Crumpets - Lava Lamp Pisco (Official Video)


Jackson Reid Briggs - 'Monster'

Nikodimos - 'Disaster'

Sara Schoenbeck & Nils Cline - 'Lullaby'

"Lullaby" by Low, Arranged by Sara Schoenbeck and Nels Cline


Alien Nosejob - 'Leather Gunn'

Guy Contact -
'90 Mile Straight (Nullarbor Mix)'

Courtney Barnett - 'Write A List Of Things To Look Forward To'

Courtney Barnett - Write A List Of Things To Look Forward To (Official Video)