PBS is a leader in the blues and roots genres. If you enjoy blues, country, bluegrass, doo wop, gospel, Ska or old-school Rhythm and Blues then we definitely have something for you!

News

Thu 1 Feb 2024 to Thu 29 Feb 2024

Thank you to all of the incredible bands, DJs, artists and performers that joined or renewed their membership throughout February for the PBS Performer Drive. 

Now, to the winners!

1st Prize Winner: Robbie Belchamber - Performer Member of Soak

Mon 29 Jan 2024 to Sun 4 Feb 2024

This week’s PBS Feature Album is Little Rope by American rockers Sleater-Kinney.

Little Rope is one of the finest, most delicately layered records in the band’s nearly 30-year career. To call the album flawless feels like an insult to its intent – it careens headfirst into flaw, into brokenness, a meditation on what living in a world of perpetual crisis has done to us, and what we do to the world in return.

 

Mon 22 Jan 2024 to Sun 28 Jan 2024

This week’s PBS Feature Album is Anywhere Here by instrumental psych jam band COMETS.

COMETS are back with another seemingly effortless number in Anywhere Here. It was recorded in a similar fashion to Rain Faces, out at Ghostriter, but this time the band sent word to a few friends to throw some sounds over the top and see what happened.

Event flyer
Sat 20 Jan 2024

PBS is proud to present our very first Blues Rendezvous! This Juke Joint session will feature sets from Checkerboard Lounge, Lauren & The Painkillers, and Jarrod Shaw! Read more here. 

Mon 15 Jan 2024 to Sun 21 Jan 2024

This week’s PBS Feature Album is Allambie by Alex Albrecht.

Alex Albrecht returns to Analogue Attic Recordings for the label's inaugural release of 2024. An immersive exploration spanning house, downtempo, and ambient genres, Albrecht guides listeners through an ephemeral sonic journey.

 

 

Mon 18 Dec 2023 to Sun 24 Dec 2023

It may come as no surprise that at PBS we passionately believe in music as a moral law. It is because, as Plato wrote all these centuries ago, music ‘gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.’  

If music is where one finds what is good in the world, then it is our moral duty to support the good work of our all-too-human music makers. In a world that is becoming increasingly inundated with artificial creations, we find ourselves more committed to celebrating human ingenuity than ever before. 

Mon 11 Dec 2023 to Sun 17 Dec 2023

This week’s PBS Feature Album is Roller Coaster by Checkerboard Lounge.

Roller Coaster is the first record to feature the band's current line-up, including Zoe Frater on bass, group founder Carl Pannuzzo on vocals and drums, Shannon Bourne on guitar, and Tim Neal on Hammond Organ. 

Mon 4 Dec 2023 to Sun 10 Dec 2023

This week’s PBS Feature Album is the self titled release by power psych trio Super American Eagle.

From a lightning moment of musical connection, Super American Eagle have built a thrilling, fuzz-filtered debut of urgent and essential psych and super heavy rock vibes. On their eponymous release, the band deliver manna for heavy rock fans craving ergine detours into noise, psych and sludgy dank, herbal grooves.  

Lloyd Briggs press shot
Mon 27 Nov 2023

Don't miss everyone's favourite Monday morning excursion through sound, Deeep Space, broadcasting LIVE from ALWAYS LIVE SOUNDBOX on the Arts Centre Forecourt - 9am ‘til 11am, Monday November 27.

Mon 27 Nov 2023 to Sun 3 Dec 2023

This week’s PBS Feature Album is New Blue Sun, the debut solo album by André 3000.