This week’s feature album Do The Understanding is the fourth album by Ron S. Peno & The Superstitions.

Forming in 2009 Ron S. Peno & The Superstitions are stalwarts of the Australian music scene. Peno, who rose to fame in Australian alternative underground band Died Pretty, returns alongside The Superstitions; Cam Butler (solo artist, ex Silver Ray) on electric guitar, Mark Dawson (Black-Eyed Susans, ex Ed Kuepper) on drums, Tim Deane (Kim Volkman, Charlie Marshall) on keyboards, and Andy Papadopoulos (ex-Deborah Conway) on electric bass.

Four years (and one global pandemic) since the band released their Australian Music Prize-longlisted album Guiding Light  elevated the band to new peaks of artistry, Ron S. Peno and The Superstitions return with Do the Understanding, a stunning new record born from connection and perseverance.

Thwarted by health issues in 2019 and of course more recently the Covid-19 pandemic, Ron’s enforced physical hiatus allowed him to delve deeply into his creative and collaborative resources. This renewed focus brought a new clarity to both song writing and voice.

Do The Understanding is out now. PBS members can tune in to the station all week for a chance to win a copy of the album.



Parvyn - 'Something 29'

Fat Freddy's Drop - 'Bones (Wairunga)'

Shannon & The Clams - 'All Of My Cryin''

Shannon & The Clams - "All Of My Cryin'" [Official Music Video]


Mdou Moctar ft. MC Yallah - 'Tala Tannam (Debmaster Remix)'

David Chesworth & Bill McDonald - 'Delay'

Beverly Glenn-Copeland - 'Sunset Village (Blood Orange Remix)'

Sunset Village (Blood Orange Remix)


SOG - 'Luxury'

James Sherlock, Ben Hanlon - 'La fille aux cheveux de lin'

Proto Moro - 'The 63'