This week’s PBS Feature Album is Funeral For Justice, the new album by Mdou Moctar.

Recorded at the close of two years spent touring the globe following the release of 2019 breakout Afrique Victime, Funeral For Justice captures the Nigerien quartet in ferocious form. The music is louder, faster, and more wild. The guitar solos are feedback-scorched and the lyrics are passionately political. Nothing is held back or toned down.

The band got their start performing at traditional weddings. These are high energy events – amps are dialed up to 11 and the whole town is invited to attend. "I grew up in the DC punk scene and this is no different," explains the band's bassist and producer Mikey Coltun. "It’s a DIY punk show: people bring generators, they crank their amps. Things are broken, but they make it work.

Tune in all this week to hear tracks from Funeral For Justice, and PBS Members have the chance to win a copy of the album on vinyl, simply email your name and membership number to   before midnight Sunday May 12. Please note vinyl giveaways must be picked up from the station in Collingwood.

Not a PBS Member? Join now!


Parsnip - 'Unearthing'

Emma Russack - 'Everything Is Big'

Queenie - 'Mama'

Queenie - Mama (Official Video)


Pokey LaFarge - 'One You, One Me'

Iron & Wine - 'Anyone's Game'

Kaiit - 'Space'

Kaiit - Space (Official Video)


Erik Griswold, Chloe Kim, Helen Svoboda - 'Rock Song'

Oren Ambarchi, Johan Berthling and Andreas Werliin - 'tre'

Koi Kingdom - 'Day of the Koi Pt.I'

Priori - 'Wake' (ft. James K)