This week's feature album has been 35 years in the making with Australian legends The Scientists delivering their new record Negativity, the first since their 1987 release Human Jukebox.

The bruising 11-track collection features a Scientists configuration much beloved by connoisseurs of the band's work; singer-guitarist Kim Salmon, lead guitarist Tony Thewlis, and bassist Boris Sujdovic, all veterans of the group’s defining 1981-85 outfit, and drummer Leanne Cowie, who replaced drummer Brett Rixon on the storming 1986 release Weird Love.

The present situation of band members in two far-flung countries has led to some changes in both writing and record production for The Scientists. In earlier years, Salmon was the principal songwriter, but all hands now contribute to the material.

Negativity draws on influences such as The Stooges, Suicide, The Gun Club, and The Cramps, all combined to create a record that is jubliant, raw, freewheeling and spattered with high-voltage sound.

Check out the first single off the album 'Outsider'.



Negativity is out June 11 on In The Red Records. Treat yourself to a copy now or PBS members can tune in on air this week for a chance to win.




Ziggy Ramo - 'Little Things feat. Paul Kelly'

Ziggy Ramo | "Little Things" feat. Paul Kelly


Rose Riebl - 'Even As The Light Fades'

The Seven Ups - 'The Old World'

Georgia State Line - 'Every Time'

Georgia State Line - Every Time


Pugilist & Another Channel - 'Seek Truth'

Springtime - 'Penumbra (Live in Melbourne)'

Katie Drover - 'Maniactic'


Ok Sure x Osopho - 'Blind'

Cosmic Psychos - 'Sin Bin'

Cosmic Psychos - Sin Bin