This week's feature album Plants Singing is the debut album by Punko, the hypnotic pop project of Mulubinba/Newcastle via Naarm/Melbourne artist Liv Jansz. Released on Friday March 18 on limited-edition 12” vinyl and digitally via Dinosaur City Records, Plants Singing is an intimate exploration of transformation.

The album was written, recorded and produced by Jansz at home in 2020 over a three-month period, with extra production and mixing courtesy of Bonnie Knight (Amyl & the Sniffers).

Through repetitive vocal mantras, layered synths and magnificently textured instrumentation, the raw and reflective debut sings listeners into a future version of themselves; one who is equipped to heal whilst inside Punko’s world of fantasy and abundance.

Plants Singing opens with Punko’s reckonings with society, past relationships and the rage of those whose bodies are not safe under the patriarchy, all the while hinting towards rebirth. The second half of the record sings listeners into the future, reflecting on moments of love and grief, spiritual awakening and a vision of hope that is interwoven throughout each song.

Plants Singing  is out now via Dinosaur City Records. Check it out here.

Tune in to PBS all this week to hear tracks from the album, and PBS Members have the chance to win a copy of the record via Tuesday’s e-newsletter. Not a member? Join now!


Zombeaches - 'Mati Muda'

Surprise Chef - 'Velodrome'

Hybrid Man - 'Ocean Drifter'

Mavis Staples & Levon Helm - 'You Got To Move'

Mavis Staples & Levon Helm - "You Got To Move"


Mary Halvorson - 'Night Shift'

Party Dozen - 'The Iron Boot'

Astral Flex - 'Takeoff (Odyssey Zelno Remix)'

Oneness of Juju - 'Breezin''

Sunflower Aquarium - 'Intro'

The CB3 - 'Teacups & Candy (ft. XANI)'