This week’s feature album Yellow is the debut release from UK multi-instrumentalist and producer Emma-Jean Thackray.

On Yellow Thackray draws a strong comparison to 70s jazz fusion and P-funk. Across the 14 tracks you'll hear brass, strings, choral segments and ecstatic chants however Thackray herself says “the groove is the most important thing. Even if it's a tune that's really mad and free, all kinds of crazy shit happening, there's usually a groove there - an anchor, locking it down”.

The album features performances from long term collaborators; drummer Dougal Taylor, pianist Lyle Barton and tuba player Ben Kelly. However it was largely recorded by Thackray at her home studio in London with the finished release resembling little of what was originally recorded in the studio.

Yellow follows Thackray’s 2020 EPs Um Yang 음 양 and Rain Dance and is out now on Warp Records. PBS members can tune in to the station all week for a chance to win a copy of the album.




MMYYKK - 'Divine'

Angel Olsen - 'Safety Dance'

F.S.Blumm & Nils Frahm - 'Desert Mule'

F.S.Blumm & Nils Frahm - Desert Mule (Official Video)


Big Yawn - 'Ragazzo'

Dry Cleaning - 'Bug Eggs'

Al Matcott - 'Justine'

Al Matcott - Justine


Christopher Port - 'Tambourines of Joy (Setwun Remix)'

Emma Russack & Lachlan Denton - 'POB'

JINJER - 'Mediator'

JINJER - Mediator (Official Video) | Napalm Records