Sun 19 Sep 2010

Now in its 8th year, the annual Award has become a highly regarded competition that showcases the fine calibre of songwriters that live and work within Darebin.

The Darebin Music Feast Songwriters’ Award Grand Final Concert will be held on Sunday 19 September at Northcote Town Hall and will be judged by a distinguished panel of local songwriters including Kutcha Edwards, Charles Jenkins and Monique Brumby.

Past winners include Jordie Lane, Sal Kimber, Ben Mason, Amy Alexander, Sarah Cowan and Alana Egan.

The Award categories and prizes include:

APRA Open Award - $1200 cash donated by APRA (Australian Performing Rights Association), studio time thanks to Jam Hut Studios, mastering at Indie Masters, $500 Implant Media Voucher for CD duplication services and $150 Guitar World Voucher

Above Love Theme Award – $600 thanks to APRA; $100 Guitar World Voucher

The theme of the Above Love Theme Award this year is Anti-Violence - take a musical stand against Violence. Presented in association with Darebin’s White Ribbon Campaign. For information on White Ribbon Campaign go to

Decibels Youth Award – $200 thanks to APRA; 6 hours recording time with engineer at Decibels Youth Music Centre; invitation to feature as a ‘guest artist’ at Decibels Acoustic Night; $50 Guitar World Voucher

Songwriters’ must live, work or study within the City of Darebin in order to be eligible to enter.

Local songwriters can find out more and download an entry form from or call 8470 8888.

Entries close 4pm Thursday 5 August 2010.