Mon 11 Jul 2011 to Sun 17 Jul 2011

by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Spunk Records are proud to present the debut album of Portland via NZ three piece Unknown Mortal Orchestra, due for release on Friday July 8.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra was conceived by NZ native Ruban Nielson (guitarist to The Mint Chicks) to release music via Bandcamp in 2010. He formed a band with skilled producer Jake Portrait on bass and brilliant teen drummer Julian Erhlich on skins, bringing break-beats together with 70s pop harmonies and a minimal Krautrock rhythm section.

Based in Portland, in their short career the band has made such an impression as to receive Band To Watch profile from Stereogum, Forkast from Pitchfork Media (‘Ffunny Frriends’) & wide accolade for their live performances, which will see them spend 2011 on tour with the Smith Westerns, Portugal, The Man and Yuck. Their debut album will be released through Fat Possum in North America & an Australian tour will take place later in the year.

This week's Top 10: