Mon 11 Feb 2013 to Sun 17 Feb 2013

by Kim Salmon & Spencer P Jones

When Kim Salmon and Spencer P Jones got together to play some gigs as a single entity early last year there was an expectation of chaos – here were two musos with the swagger and baggage of a lifetime in rock n roll.

During a month-long residency at The Old Bar in Fitzroy, they developed a number of new songs and a divergent collection of covers from Kanye West to Peggy Lee to Jeffery Lee Pierce.

Revealing monologues and rants were added to old blues songs and standards and new songs were deconstructed rather than rendered. Working with engineer Adrian Akkerman of Incubator Recording Studio, Salmon and Jones coaxed 12 songs for the album ‘Runaways’ due for release digitally and on CD/vinyl on 15 February 2013.

The first single is a Salmon/Jones collaboration called ‘A Bitter Projection’ b/w ‘Monkey’ featuring saxophonist Ross Beaton (Eagle & The Worm). The single will be available as a limited edition 45” at The Tote on Friday, 15 February 2013.

The track list for the Runaways album by Kim Salmon & Spencer P Jones is:

A Bitter Projection (Salmon/Jones)
I Asked For Water (Chester Burnett)
I Need Somebody (The Stooges)
Is That All There Is (Leiber & Stoller)
It’s All The Same (Salmon/Jones)
Jack on Fire (Jeffery Lee Pierce)
Loose Ends (Salmon/Jones)
The Monkey (Jones/Salmon)
Runaway (Kanye West)
Scorched Earth Pearl (Jones/Salmon)
Underclass (Alex Chilton)
The Whole of the Law (The Only Ones)

‘Runaways’ is the first and possibly only album to ever be made by Kim Salmon and Spencer P Jones.

This week's Top 10: