Thu 10 Dec 2020

Last night was the 16th edition of the annual Music Victoria Awards - a night honouring Victoria’s best acts, albums, songs and musicians of the past 12 months. 

Sampa the Great - Music Victoria Awards 2020
Sampa the Great

Co-presented by PBS and RRR, this year’s Awards were held as part of the Melbourne Music Week - Extended program at the Melbourne Recital Centre, as well as being livestreamed and broadcast on Channel 31. MC’d by beloved community radio presenters Lyndelle Wilkinson and Chris Gill, the evening featured live performances by Alice Skye, Elizabeth, Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever and Simona Castricum.

Did you miss the awards? You can watch the livestream back here.

You can find the full list of winners below, but it would be remiss of us not to mention that PBS favourite Sampa The Great continued her reign of 2020, taking home four awards: Best Album, Best Solo Artist, Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album and Best Song (for her hit single ‘OMG’). Pub rock larrikins Amyl and The Sniffers took home three awards for Best Band and Best Live Act, with the Best Musician gong going to their vocalist Amy Taylor. 

The event also saw Australian music icon Paul Kelly induct the late, great Chris Wilson into the Music Victoria Hall Of Fame, presenting a touching speech and inviting Chris’ wife Sarah Carroll and sons Fenn Wilson and George Carroll Wilson to the stage to accept the induction. Kim Salmon and Jo Roberts presented fellow Hall of Fame Inductee Mary Mihelakos with her official induction to celebrate her extensive and prolific industry career.

The Music Victoria Awards provides an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of artists from around the state, and the list of winners proves that there is a lot to celebrate! We can only imagine what 2021 will bring.

Pinch Points - Music Victoria Awards 2020
Best Breakthrough Act - Pinch Points

Music Victoria Awards 2020 - full list of winners

Public voted winners

Best Album
Sampa The Great − The Return

Best Band
Amyl and The Sniffers

Best Song
Sampa The Great − OMG

Best Solo Artist
Sampa The Great

Best Musician
Amy Taylor (Amyl and The Sniffers)

Best Breakthrough Act
Pinch Points

Best Live Act
Amyl and The Sniffers

Industry-voted winners

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act
The Teskey Brothers (Warrandyte)

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent

Best Blues Album
Lloyd Spiegel − Cut and Run

Best Country Album
Tracy McNeil & The GoodLife − You Be The Lightning

Best Electronic Act
Sleep D

Best Experimental or Avant-garde Act
Robin Fox

Best Folk Album
Fiona Ross & Shane O'Mara − Sunwise Turn

Best Heavy Album
Diploid − Glorify

Best Hip Hop Act

Best Intercultural Act
Black Jesus Experience

Best Jazz Album
Vanessa Perica Orchestra − Love is a Temporary Madness

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act
Dub FX

Best Rock/Punk Album
Cable Ties − Far Enough

Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album
Sampa The Great − The Return

Listen to the winners on Music Victoria Awards Spotify playlist: