Wed 20 Nov 2019

The Music Victoria Awards are back for their 15th year, and the announcement of the 2019 nominees confirms it’s been yet another huge year for the Victorian live and recording music industry.

Previous award winners Sampa The Great and The Teskey Brothers are leading the nominees tally, joined by Tropical Fuck Storm and recent Levi’s Prize winner Gordon Koang - all up for a whopping five awards each in 2019. Following closely behind is rising hip hop act DRMNGNOW and the unstoppable Amyl and the Sniffers with four nominations each across both the public and industry voted categories. Previous awards performer Angie McMahon has had a stellar year locally and internationally and finds herself snagging three publically-voted nominations.

Since its inception in 2005, The Music Victoria Awards has partnered with a spread of sponsors, backing the winners with cash and industry package prizes each and every year. This year's partners include Bakehouse Studios, APRA AMCOS, The Archie Roach Foundation, and new partner Lyrical Road who are providing a $5000 prize pack to this year's Best Live Act winner. 

From now until midnight Friday 8 November, Australia’s music community can vote for their favourite music contributions of the year in the publicly-voted categories for Best Album, Best Band, Best Song, Best Solo Artist, Best Male Musician, Best Female Musician, Best Breakthrough Act, Best Live Band, Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity), and Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity).

Get your vote in now via the Music Victoria website for your chance to win tickets to attend the ceremony at Melbourne Recital Centre on Wednesday November 20.

The full list of nominees now open for PUBLIC VOTING are:

Best Album

Amyl and the Sniffers - Amyl and the Sniffers

Angie McMahon – Salt

Gregor - Silver Drop

On Diamond - On Diamond

The Teskey Brothers - Run Home Slow


Best Band

Amyl and the Sniffers

Cash Savage and The Last Drinks

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard

The Teskey Brothers

Tropical Fuck Storm


Best Song

Briggs - Life is Incredible (feat. Greg Holden)

Cash Savage and The Last Drinks - Good Citizens

Gordon Koang - Stand Up (Clap Your Hands)

Sampa The Great - Final Form

The Teskey Brothers - So Caught Up


Best Solo Artist

Alex Lahey

Angie McMahon

Baker Boy

Courtney Barnett


Gordon Koang



Palm Springs

Sampa The Great


Best Male Musician

Davey Lane

Gareth Liddiard (Tropical Fuck Storm)

Gordon Koang

Stu Mackenzie (King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard)

Paul Kelly


Best Female Musician

Angie McMahon

Courtney Barnett

Erica Dunn (Tropical Fuck Storm, Palm Springs, Harmony)

Romy Vager (RVG)

Sampa Tembo (Sampa The Great)


Best Breakthrough Act


Gena Rose Bruce

G Flip

Gordon Koang

Tones and I


Best Live Act

Amyl and the Sniffers

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard


Sampa The Great

Tropical F*ck Storm


Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)

The Gasometer Hotel, Fitzroy

Howler, Brunswick

Northcote Social Club, Northcote

The Old Bar, Fitzroy

The Tote Hotel, Collingwood


Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)

Corner Hotel, Richmond

The Croxton Bandroom, Thornbury

Forum, Melbourne

Hamer Hall, Southbank

Melbourne Recital Centre, Southbank