Mon 18 Jun 2012 to Sun 24 Jun 2012

by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros have finished and turned in 9 songs that make up their 2nd album 'Here'.

During the process of recording and mixing this album, the band has gone through a few line-up changes. Aaron Embry (piano) is recording his own album for Sub Pop, Nico Aglietti (guitar, co-producer of Up From Below) is focusing on producing all sorts of incredible music, while Aaron Older (bass, co-producer) has also decided to focus on producing music with other bands.
Enter Mark Noseworthy (guitar), Aaron Arntz (piano) and Seth Ford-Young (bass).

These 9 songs were recorded in 'The Ed Shed', a studio the band leased in Ojai, California. Alex Ebert produced Here. The main difference between from Up From Below is that that first album was made before an extensive amount of touring and playing together as a band.

Here feels more live - a truer reflection of the band's sound than previously recorded. 'Man on Fire' was given to KCRW to play during their broadcast from SXSW. It was always the 'special' song, but they didn't honestly think it would get played.

KCRW played it, someone ripped it and uploaded it to the internet and all of a sudden radio stations everywhere were asking to add it - it was added to more stations in a week than 'Home' was!

This week's Top 10: