Mon 21 Sep 2020

This week's feature album is First Sounds Vol. 3 - the third in the collaborative series from the Community Broadcasting Association of Australia and First Nations Media Australia featuring new and emerging First Nations artists from around the country.

First Sounds Vol. 3 captures the widest spread yet in this innovative series of releases, giving community radio the opportunity to broadcast a greater diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music on its airwaves.

The album features 12 selected artists from Blacktown to Brisbane, Melbourne to the Torres Strait Islands and Ntaria in the Central Desert, displaying an incredible breadth of First Nations songs, from hypnotic ballads sung in language, bumpin’ hip hop, ambient electronica and sleek, sophisticated neo-soul.

By turns tough, tender, evocative and provocative, First Sounds Vol. 3 shows Australia the amazing talent First Nations artists have in abundance.

Kee’Ahn’s track 'Better Things' has already made an impact, awarded Song of the Year at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards:


"As a proud Kuku Yalanji, Jirrbal and Zenadh Kes musician, music sheds light on my journey with my mental health and growing strength in my identity. "Better Things" is a story that I hope encourages healing, so it’s an incredible honour to have my debut single feature on First Sounds celebrating our individual stories and collective strength as First Peoples. I encourage all mob to continue being vocal in your truth telling, First Sounds is a beautiful opportunity to share our voices."  


Rapper and MC Dallas Woods, possibly best known for his co-write of Baker Boy’s 'Mr La Di Da Di', formed part of the selection panel for First Sounds Vol. 3:


"I love hearing black excellence and every single song showcased something unique. I'm always happy to learn more about my people and music is my favourite source. Privileged to be a part of First Sounds and enjoyed getting a glimpse of our next wave of talent. Makes me proud."


First Sounds Vol. 3 is curated and distributed by indigiTUBE and Amrap respectively and is a special radio only edition. Tune into PBS or any of your favourite community radio stations to hear tracks from the album.



Levon Vincent - 'WKO'

Laura MacFarlane - 'Coded'

Tio - 'Black Butterfly'

Tio - Black Butterfly


King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - 'Straws In The Wind'

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - Straws In The Wind


Bufiman - 'Apo-Calypso (Rhythm Trax)'

The Avalanches - 'Take Care In Your Dreaming (feat. Denzel Curry, Tricky & Sampa The Great)'

Take Care In Your Dreaming (Visualiser)


Max Lawrence - 'Speak In Tongues (QUEERS AT HOME Edition)'

Speak In Tongues (QUEERS AT HOME Edition) - Max Lawrence


El Tee - 'Everything is Fine'

Phoebe Bridgers x Arlo Parks - 'Fake Plastic Trees'

Phoebe Bridgers x Arlo Parks - Fake Plastic Trees (Radiohead) - Radio 1 Piano Session