PBS has been busy restoring its archive of analogue reel-to-reel tapes to preserve the incredible collection of live performances recorded by keen volunteers during our early days; fledgling local bands and already famous international artists passing through Melbourne, recorded in the pubs and concert venues of the time.

We’re now proud as punch to be able to bring these historic and valuable audio documents to you From The Vault.

News

Fri 16 Dec 2022
Booked Out!

NEW DATE - Friday December 16!

Sat 29 Oct 2022

PBS is thrilled to announce the return of the annual PBS Record Fair on Saturday October 29 at Collingwood Town Hall.

With over 40 stalls jam packed with dealers, collectors, record labels and PBS announcers selling the finest collectables as well as thousands of bargains, there’ll be something for everyone: LPs, 12”, 7”, CDs, posters, t-shirts, music memorabilia, vintage clothes, Yoke vintage kidswear, indoor plants and more!

Don’t miss out! Join the Facebook event here for all the latest info.

Tue 19 Jul 2022

Iconic U.S. band Endless Boogie describe themselves as "two or three guitars, whatever amps you got, one wah pedal, one distortion box. The bass, the drums. Reluctant vocals." Yet they are much, much more. In their 25-year career so far, these psych-rock luminaries have not ceased to keep pushing boundaries in their sonic explorations and minimalist jams.

Mon 11 Jul 2022 to Sun 17 Jul 2022

Check out this week's PBS Feature Album and the new releases we're loving.

Fri 13 May 2022

It's Adrian Basso's final week at PBS this week, so we can't help but take a look back at some classic Basso moments from the past 15 years. Thanks for being the General Manager at PBS - you'll be missed!

 

Fri 4 Jun 2021

It feels like PBS has been talking about a new home forever and now the time has finally come.

PBS Performer Drive 2021
Mon 1 Feb 2021 to Sun 28 Feb 2021

Join or renew as a Performer member during the month of February and you will go into the draw to win one of three amazing prize packs! 

Solo artist, in a band, DJ or producer? All performers are welcome. Membership is only $120 for the year and you will have your performer name read out weekly on your favourite show. And a membership is even cheaper when it's shared between band mates! 

Mon 21 Dec 2020 to Sun 27 Dec 2020

As the year draws to a close we reflect on the best new releases of 2020.