

## Minutes of Annual General Meeting of the Progressive Broadcasting Service Cooperative Ltd

### Meeting held Wednesday 30 November 2022

The meeting was called to order at 7:15pm by the Chair, Jurgen Schaub (JS)

# **Present and Apologies**

#### **Present:**

Jurgen Schaub, Lauren O'Dwyer, Peter Boyle, Claire Stuchbery, Lucy Tehan, Evonne Grosso, Fiona Mary McNally, Kieran Rivett, Chris Pearson, Sam Goldie, Ian Stanistreet, Paul Maybury, Kurt Eckardt, Phil MacDougall, Bill Runting, Roger Jones, Cameron Paine, Ronan Hamill, Lyndelle Wilkinson, Di Crowther, Helen Jennings, Gerry Koster, Gavin Younger, Myles O'Neil-Shaw, Julie Enzerink, Kristen Paterson, Kayley Langdon, Rober Eames, Tom Sianidis.

#### **Apologies:**

Suzette Watkins, Natalene Muscat, Garry Havrillay, Jan Dale, Mitch Booth, Clare Presser, Mike Sewell, Wendy Tonkin, Roger Holdsworth, Justin Naylor, Perry Holt, Paddy Harrison, Shelley McNicholl, Kristene Olaris, Maddy Macfarlane, Pete Merrit, Ruari Currin, Adrian Meade, Andrew Young

#### Welcome

JS welcomed all attendees.

JS invited Lauren O'Dwyer to acknowledge country. Lauren is a Yorta Yorta woman. Lauren acknowledged traditional owners, the Wurundjeri Woiwurrung people, and paid respect to elders past and present.

JS introduced the current members of the board in attendance.

### **Minutes of Last Meeting**

Minutes of 2021 AGM (held February 2022) reviewed.

Motion to accept: Chris Pearson Seconded: Kieran Rivett

Majority in favour of acceptance by show of hands

### **Chair's Report**

JS directed the meeting to the published Annual Report.

He noted the significant contribution from Adrian Basso, General Manager, who had recently resigned.

He noted the move to the new studios was now complete.

He referred to work to be done in the coming financial year including in relation to the completion of a strategic plan: how does PBS continue to be relevant?

He thanked current and retiring board members and introduced the station's new General Manager, Kristen Paterson.

# **Committee Reports**

### **General Manager's Report**

Kristen Paterson introduced herself and provided a brief report about her background her work at the station to date. She thanked the team of PBS staff and volunteers for their excellent work and noted the station was in a stable financial position after the move. She noted all were looking forward to Drive Live restarting in late February 2023 and that work would also commence on the honour board to say thank you to those who made major contributions to the move to Collingwood Yards.

### 2020 Annual Report including Audited Accounts

The Treasurer Kieran Rivett (KR) took the financial report included in the Annual Report as read.

He noted that while total revenue had fallen for the year as a result of declining grant income, there had been a significant increase in revenue from membership subscriptions of approximately 5%.

He referred to significant report cash reserves of approximately \$2million which were a sign of PBS' financial strength, while noting that this was the high water mark for the year as the reporting period ends in June, just after Radio Festival in May.

Motion to accept financial report: Moved Ian Stanistreet, seconded JS

Majority in favour of acceptance by show of hands

#### **Election of external auditors**

KR proposed that E F McPhail and Partners be appointed for a further term as external auditors.

Moved Ian Stanistreet, seconded Lauren O'Dwyer

Majority in favour of acceptance by show of hands

### **Election of Directors**

There were three two-year board vacancies to be filled and one one-year board vacancy.

Four nominations had been received for three two-year terms – Evonne Grosso, Chris Pearson, Jurgen Shaub and Lucy Tehan. An election was therefore required for these positions.

One nomination had been received for the one-year position - Fiona McNally.

Each nominee was invited to speak for two minutes after which time a ballot was held for the two-year positions.

The returning officer Kayley Langdon declared the results of the election for the two-year board positions: Evonne Grosso, Jurgen Schaub and Lucy Tehan were elected.

Fiona McNally was elected to the one-year board position unopposed.

### **General Discussion**

The Chair then invited comments and questions. There was discussion in relation to the DAB broadcast and the station's investment in digital broadcasting.

There were questions in relation to sponsorship and KR noted the station's expectation was that it would return to 2019 levels.

There was a discussion about events and improving event revenue, including Soul A Go Go.

Meeting closed at 8:00 pm