Now on PBS

Fiesta Jazz latin, jazz & fusion with Saul Zavarce, Sat 11:00am - 1:00pm
Switched On swingin' lounge with Emma Peel, Sat 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Soulgroove'66 r'n'b & funky soul with Pierre Baroni, Sat 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Babylon Burning reggae & dancehall with Jesse I, Sat 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Show #188 - The Ivory Elephant Studio 5 Live Session!

Radio City : Playlist for Thursday 4 May 2017

Artist | Track/Song Name | Album Title | Label/Distributor | Comments

Opening Theme: Eilen Jewell | Radio City | Queen Of The Minor Key

1. Baptist | Burn Below Drag Your Body | 7" Single
- A project by Graveyard Train's Nick Finch to arrange songs by Batpiss into a gospel style.
2. Nina Simone | Com' By H'Yere Good Lord | It Is Finished
- A gospel tune off Nina's live album from 1974 which was also her last for RCA records.
3. Pastor T.L. Barrett & The Youth For Christ Choir | Nobody Knows | Like A Ship (Without A Sail)
- From an excellent self-released gospel album released by Pastor T.L. Barrett in 1971 and reissued by Light In The Attic records in 2010.

4. Baby Blue | New Girlfriend | In My Mind EP
- First EP release from Baby Blue and this is the only song which had been previously unreleased. EP launch is on May 25th @ The Curtin Hotel w/Closet Straights + Swim Team.
5. PJ Harvey | A Dog Called Money | Single
- A double A sided vinyl single has just been released to coincide with PJ's North American shows and are now available digitally. Both songs were recorded during The Hope Six Demolition Project sessions.
6. Look Blue Go Purple | As Does The Sun | Still Bewitched
- This is a recent compilation from this legendary NZ Flying Nun band from the 80s. It features all of their EP's plus some live tracks. This track was originally released on their first EP, Bewitched, in 1985.
7. Fazerdaze | Take It Slow | Morningside
- And to keep with the theme, this is the debut full-length album from the NZ artist, Amelia Murray. It is released tomorrow and is also the PBS station feature album this week!

8. The Jimi Hendrix Experience | Manic Depression | Are You Experienced?
- May 12th is the 50th anniversary of the release of this classic album. Shannon Bourne and band are presenting the entire album tomorrow night at the Flying Saucer Club.
9. The Black Angels | Currency | Death Song
- From their 5th album, released in April.
10. Goat | Goatfuzz | Requiem
- From their 3rd album, released last year.
11. Mt. Mountain | Floating Eyes | Dust
- From Perth band's new album, released in April. Their Melbourne album launch will be @ The Tote on May 27th w/Buried Feather, The Black Heart Death Cult + Bananagun.

The Ivory Elephant - Studio 5 Live Session
12. Number 1 Pop Hit
13. Ballad Of Wild Bill
14. Ho Ha
15. Save My Soul
16. Like A Dog
17. Devil's Waiting For Me
18. Can't Take It With You When You Go

19. The Suitcase Junket | Busted Gut | Pile Driver
- New album from one-man band, Matt Lorenz.

Interview with The Ivory Elephant

20. Valerie June | Shakedown | The Order Of Time
- From new album, following on from her excellent 2013 album, Pushin' Against A Stone.
21. Matt Walker | Back To The Hills | In Echoes Of Dawn
- Matt is playing in the front bar of the Retreat Hotel in Brunswick every Monday night in March.
22. Jeff Tweedy | Laminated Cat | Together At Last
- This is the first single from Jeff's new album focusing on acoustic versions of older songs. This one being originally released by his solo project Loose Fur in 2003. The album will be released on June 23rd.
23. Jep And Dep | Cruel Moon | Forthcoming Album
- 2nd album is intended for release in August.

Closing Theme: Ashley Davies | To Carpentaria - Into The Unknown | The Expedition Burke & Wills



©2019 Progressive Broadcasting Service Cooperative Ltd. | About PBS | Privacy Policy | Legal Notice | FAQ | Contact Us

Powered by Drupal, an open source content management system